IssueRaiser

Thanks for explaining.

Thanks for explaining. It would be useful if the app made the differences clearer - you can see the confusion in this thread alone where people just can't see why my delete icon is missing and theirs is present (and the ensuing downvotes because it looks like I'm just doing something wrong). I have always used the app offline, so it's quite frustrating that a major part of my workflow has been made more difficult. I'm not sure what the benefit was in changing this behaviour for offline users - there's always been a trash/delete icon. Now someone has just taken it away. Ideally, I'd love to see it return and the confirmation dialog to disappear (or be configurable with a preference). Or if you're using it offline, add a confirmation dialog ("You're PERMANENTLY deleting this") with a "Don't show this warning again" box. And possibly add a "Deleted (Undo)" toast (delay actual deletion on the filesystem by 3-5 seconds). I think most users understand the semantics of deleting a file, and if this change only affects offline users then the affected users already know that delete means delete forever. I would actually consider signing in at some point, but I now feel my hand is being forced just to regain some fundamental functionality. Additionally - what about users who can't use the app online? For example users with limited data packages or users who travel a lot (where roaming data can cost upwards of $5/MB).

Posted by davb on Jun 1, 2015, 10:18 AM

Tags

Related issues

Raise real-world problems, find people facing the same issue, and discuss solutions.6,000 issues0 comments

pricing (SaaS)

Thanks for explaining.

davbJun 1, 2015, 10:18 AM

Thanks for explaining. It would be useful if the app made the differences clearer - you can see the confusion in this thread alone where people just can't see why my delete icon is missing and theirs is present (and the ensuing downvotes because it looks like I'm just doing something wrong). I have always used the app offline, so it's quite frustrating that a major part of my workflow has been made more difficult. I'm not sure what the benefit was in changing this behaviour for offline users - there's always been a trash/delete icon. Now someone has just taken it away. Ideally, I'd love to see it return and the confirmation dialog to disappear (or be configurable with a preference). Or if you're using it offline, add a confirmation dialog ("You're PERMANENTLY deleting this") with a "Don't show this warning again" box. And possibly add a "Deleted (Undo)" toast (delay actual deletion on the filesystem by 3-5 seconds). I think most users understand the semantics of deleting a file, and if this change only affects offline users then the affected users already know that delete means delete forever. I would actually consider signing in at some point, but I now feel my hand is being forced just to regain some fundamental functionality. Additionally - what about users who can't use the app online? For example users with limited data packages or users who travel a lot (where roaming data can cost upwards of $5/MB).

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Start the discussion.

Comment on this issue